

## PLANNING AND REGULATORY COMMITTEE

# **TERMS OF REFERENCE**

Reports to: Council

**Chairperson:** Cr Vickery (appointed by the Mayor)

**Membership:** Six councillors including the chair (minimum of one councillor per

ward)

**Appointments** Cr Ross Vickery, Cr Pam Colenso, Cr Rebecca Fox, Cr Leigh Hay, Cr

19-22: Alistair Plimmer and Cr Brenda West

Mayor Alex Beijen (ex-officio)

Non-voting Chair of each community board and the chair of the Māori Standing

**attendees:** Committee may attend and participate in debate

Meeting

Frequency: 6-weekly

**Quorum:** Four members

#### 1. Purpose

The Planning and Regulatory Committee is established for the purposes of:

- Providing advice and recommendations to Council on planning and regulatory matters.
- Monitoring of major Council projects and assets where Council has a regulatory function and provide regulatory oversight separate to Councils assets and services function.

## 2. Roles and Responsibilities

Services including the provision and maintenance of:

- Resource consent acquisition, implementation or monitoring.
- Such other functions as may be delegated by Council from time to time.

## 3. Accountability and reporting

Within the parameters of the Local Government Act, and having regard to the powers, functions and responsibilities of the Chief Executive Officer, the Committee is charged with providing advice and recommendations to Council regarding:

- The development and implementation of Council regulatory policy or bylaws.
- Monitoring of major planning projects.